Louisiana State Facts, Symbols and History

Louisiana Fast Facts

Capital: Baton Rouge (pop. 277,017) (2008 est.)

Louisiana population: 4,601,893 ( 2012 est.) (25th)

Louisiana Quarter: The third quarter released in 2002 honor Louisiana and 18th in the United States Mint’s 50 State Quarters® Program.Louisiana was admitted to the Union on April 30, 1812, becoming our Nation’s 18th state. Referred to as the “Pelican State”, the Louisiana quarter includes an image of a brown pelican, trumpets with musical notes, and an outline of the Louisiana Territory. The trumpet and musical notes are representative of the birth of jazz in New Orleans, and the Louisiana Purchase in relation to the expansion of the United States.

The coin is inscribed with “Louisiana”, “1812” and “Louisiana Purchase”.

Language: English, others

Largest Cities: (by population) Baton Rouge, New Orleans, Shreveport, Lafayette, Lake Charles, Kenner

Name: Louisiana was named after Louis XIV of France

Statehood: April 30, 1812 (18th state)

Louisiana Symbols

  • Animal: none official
  • Bird: Brown’s Eastern Pelican
  • Flag of Louisiana
  • Flower: magnolia
  • Insect: honey bee
  • Motto: “Union, Judge and Confidence”
  • Nicknames: (most used) Pelican State, Bayou State
  • Song: “Gimme Louisiana” and “You Are My Light”
  • State seal
  • Tree: swamp cypress or swamp cypress

Louisiana is a state in the southern United States, the 18th state to join the Union. The capital is Baton Rouge and the largest city is New Orleans. The total area is 135,382 km, including 112,927 km on land. Population 4,601,893 (2012). See cities and towns in Louisiana.

Louisiana’s official nickname is the Pelican State.

In the past, Louisiana was the name given to the vast area near the Gulf of Mexico, controlled by the French. After the formation of the United States, a significant part of this territory was the state of the same name.

Louisiana borders Texas to the west, Arkansas to the north, Mississippi to the east, and the Gulf of Mexico to the south. The territory of the state is clearly divided into two parts – “upper” and “lower”. The latter is characterized by an abundance of swampy lowlands.

In ancient times, the territory of the state was inhabited by Indians of such tribes as Atakapa, Chitimachas, Houma, etc.

  • AbbreviationFinder: Demonstrates how the two-letter acronym of LA stands for Louisiana and a list of frequently used abbreviations related to the state of Louisiana.

In the 16th century, the territory of present-day Louisiana was discovered and mastered by the Spaniards, in the 17th century the French colonization of the region began. In 1763, the eastern part of the territory of Louisiana was under the control of the British, the western part went first to the Spaniards, then, in 1800, to the French. After the formation of the United States, the eastern part of Louisiana became part of the new state. In 1803, the States also bought western Louisiana from the Napoleonic administration. The territory of the province was divided among several states.

In 1849, the capital of Louisiana was moved from New Orleans to Baton Rouge.

During the Civil War, Louisiana seceded from the Union (January 26, 1861). Federal troops took New Orleans on April 25, 1862.

The population of the modern state according to the 2000 census consists of whites (63%), blacks (32%), 5% (Asians and others). 92% consider English as their native language, 5% – French, 3% – Spanish.

Difficult racial relations, sharply rebuilt after the entry of Louisiana into the United States, continue to be overshadowed by numerous racial tensions and open confrontations (performances by African Americans after Hurricane Katrina, bloody events and mass rallies in the small town of Jena in 2007).

Whites of British descent predominate in northern Louisiana. These people are mostly of English, Welsh and Scotch-Irish ancestry and share a common culture and Protestant religion with neighboring states.

Before the Louisiana Sale, several German families moved to the countryside along the Mississippi River, a place that later became known as German Shore. They assimilated into Creole and Cajun society. Since New Orleans is a major port and the third wealthiest city in the country. This attracted numerous Irish, Italian and German immigrants, who were initially mostly Catholic.

Louisiana’s population has undergone significant changes throughout its history. During the French and Spanish regimes, a multi-racial hierarchical ladder was formed in Louisiana with three main components: white planters, initially from Europe, and then Creoles born here and their families, who formed the elite of the colonies. Then they were followed by colored people – a free population of mixed European-Indian-African origin, which developed especially rapidly under the conditions of the place place institution (cohabitation of white gentlemen and colored girls), as well as black slaves from Africa. Just as in Latin America, the boundaries between these approximately equal three groups were not clear, so there was high mobility of the population with a rather patriarchal way of life.

During Spanish rule in the mid-18th century, several thousand Acadians, driven by Britain from Nova Scotia, came here, settling mainly in the southwestern part of Louisiana, now known as Acadiana. The Spanish government accepted the Acadians well, and their descendants began to be called “cahuns”.

When the United States gained independence in 1783, they became concerned about the European presence on the western borders and the possibility of unhindered access to the Mississippi River. As the Americans moved west, they found that the Appalachians created an obstacle to the movement of goods to the east. The easiest way to float food was to use a raft to ferry it down the Ohio and Mississippi to the port of New Orleans, where it was loaded onto ocean-going ships. The problem was that the Spaniards held both banks of the Mississippi beyond Nachez. Napoleon’s ambitious plans included the creation of a new empire based on the sugar trade between the countries of the Caribbean. Louisiana in this context served as a kind of warehouse for all sugar products.

The entry of Louisiana into the United States turned into a real tragedy for the neo-Romanesque way of life, which managed to take shape in the 17th – 18th centuries.

British and Germans who massively moved to Louisiana in the 19th – 20th centuries. did everything possible to oust first the French and Spanish languages, and then crack down on the soft, very democratic structure of the local community, which combined the features of the three communities of the region. At first, complete segregation of races is established in the state, then the rule of one drop of blood is introduced, the Ku Klux Klan spreads its influence, apartheid develops and Jim Crow laws are established. In the 19th century, the bulk of the free colored population moved to Mexico, the remnants of which were reduced to the position of Negro slaves. Blacks and people of color (native French Creoles and African Americans) nevertheless dominated Louisiana until 1900.

On the other hand, the United States retained its customary law in Louisiana (francophone codes were translated into English). At present, Louisiana is the only state in the United States where continental civil law, which is derived from Roman law, is generally in force, while Anglo-Saxon common law, based on precedent, has penetrated here only to a very weak extent.

Louisiana State Symbols

Louisiana State Facts, Symbols and History
Rate this post

You may also like...